ABBA To Return With First Album in 40 Years

Swedish pop legends ABBA have reunited to release their first album in 40 years, titled Voyage.

Ahead of the record’s debut on November 5, the quartet shared two new tracks: “I Still Have Faith In You,” which pays homage to the band’s powerful bond atop a piano ballad, and “Don’t Shut Me Down,” which follows the melodramatic love story of a woman returning to her partner years after her departure.

ABBA released their last album, The Visitors, in November 1981, before disbanding the following year. The band then reunited in 2018, when they first teased their now-released single, “I Still Have Faith In You.”

“Those first sessions back in 2018 were such fun and when Benny called and asked if I’d consider singing some more I jumped at it,” said Anni-Frid Lyngstad in a release. “And what songs!! My respect and love go out to these exceptionally talented, truly genius songwriters! Such joy it was to work with the group again. I am so happy with what we have made, and I dearly hope our fans feel the same.”


In tandem with the album’s announcement, ABBA also confirmed they will take to the stage once more on May 27, 2022, at London’s Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park. There, the original members — Lyngstad, Benny Anderson, Agnetha Fältskog, and Björn Kristian Ulvaeus — will perform as digital versions of themselves alongside a 10-piece band.

“It’s hard to say what’s been the most joyful thing for me with this project,” said Anderson. “If it’s the involvement in creating the concert together with everyone or being back in the studio together again after 40 years. I think hearing Frida and Agnetha singing again is hard to beat. When you come to the arena you will have the four of us together with an absolutely glorious 10-piece band. And even if not in the flesh, we will be right there, thanks to the work of the creative team and ILM.”

Take a look at the Voyage tracklist below.

01 I Still Have Faith in You
02 When You Danced With Me
03 Little Things
04 Don’t Shut Me Down
05 Just a Notion
06 I Can Be That Woman
07 Keep an Eye on Dan
08 Bumblebee
09 No Doubt About It
10 Ode to Freedom

Elsewhere in music, Lil Durk leads the way as the most-charted artist of 2021.

Source: Read Full Article